Preparing Whale Song for Global Adventures (Web Extra)

Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
0
30.©Tom Zydler_DSC3351

Whale Song at a Glance

LOA 94’

Beam 24’

Draft 8.5”

250 tons deadweight, steel hull, ABS Ice

Fuel 9,000 gallons

range 3000 nm passage or 2000nm one month cruise

Mains 2-CAT 3406 440 hp

10 knot cruise

Gensets 2-CAT 3304 65 kW

Sleep 13 in 6 ensuite cabins

Tenders 18’RIB w/115 hp, 11’RIB w/10 hp

Dive compressor, 4 x full SCUBA, 2 kayaks

Galley w/Meile dishwasher; Bosch oven; Thermador cooktop; full pantry

Walk-in cold room & freezer;

2 x 1200 gpd watermakers;

NAIAD stabilizers

Anschutz autopilot

2 x 48 mi Furuno radar; 2 x Furuno GPS

2 x 330 # anchors each with 800’ of ¾” chain

Modifications To Date For 5 Year Circumnavigation

4,000 lb hydraulic davit crane; 11’ back-up aluminum bottom RIB; external scoop and self priming pumps for sea chest; storm water deflectors for engine room air intakes and exhaust; Lexan covers for all main deck windows; plywood panels for all upper deck windows; 1200’ of l” polyester shore lines on reels; Fortress anchor for stern or shore; relocate ballast; install interior handrails; re-pipe and re-locate numerous pumps and valves; satellite compass (replaces gyro); Iridium, Inmarsat C and BGAN satellite communications links; 13 x SOLAS immersion survival suits; wine storage for 15 cases; 500 DVD library; 35 courtesy flags; 100 book reference library

Resources

Legal: Kurt Bosshardt & Assoc, Ft. Lauderdale, kurt@yachtlawyers.com

Crew: Donna McPhail, Ft. Lauderdale, duane@pbyintl.com

Trinidad: Marine Sales, Maggie Majaraj, 866-625-1364; fuel

Brazil, Macapa: maship@uol.com.br, clearance, fuel

Brazil, Belem: J C Bacelar, jcb@brisabelem.com.br , fuel, clearance, security, pilots

Brazil, Itaqui/Sao Luis: Fabio Pflueger, Fabio@harms.com.br, clearance

Brazil, Fortaleza: Eric Rocha, eric@vcastro.com.br, clearance, fuel

Brazil, Recife: Armano Castro, transmaritma@transmaritima.com.br, clearance

Brazil, Salvador: Eduardo Fasani, Eduardo@bahiaship.com.br, fuel, clearance, freight

Falklands: Robert Rowlands, rrowlands@stanley-services.co.fk, fuel, clearance

Argentina, Ushuaia: Roxanna Diaz, rox@ushuaialogistics.com, fuel, clearance

Antarctica & Patagonia: Arturo de la Barrera Werner, delabarrera@chilesat.net, pilot

Chile, Valdivia: Alex Wopper, awopper@alwoplast.cl, shipyard

Peru, Lima: Luis Herrera, Lherrera@hanseatica.com.pe, clearance, security, fuel

Galapagos: Antonio Moreano, antonio@galayachts.com clearance, guide, naturalist, fuel

Japan: Maki Hayashida, bwa.tokyo.operation@wilhelmsen.com, clearance, fuel, permits

Philippines: Julie Casis, jcasis@vetyard.com, clearance, fuel

Papua New Guinea: Alois Mateos, adventurepng@datec.net.pg, security, land arrangements

Papua New Guinea: Interoil, tau.badira@interoil.com, fuel

Solomon Islands: Shell Oil, William Waterpuru, williamw@solomon.com.sb, fuel

Australia, Cairns: Rob van der Moigg, Kraken Marine, admin@krakenmarine.com.au

Indonesia: PT Indonusa, Kumala Dewi, info@indonusa-marine.net, cruising permit,

clearance, fuel, guide, security, land arrangements

Related